Carper Award

The Dr. N. Gordon Carper Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 1999 to honor individuals for meritorious services in sustaining and enriching collegiate academic competitions. Former Georgia Tech luminary Al Whited modeled the Carper on the Fermi Award. The award is presented annually to a member of the quizbowl community who exhibits the kind of dedication to and long-term support of academic competitions as exemplified by career of Dr. Carper. The Carper Award, while sponsored by the Academic Competition Federation, is not limited to individuals with ACF affiliations.

Carper Award Winners:

1999: Dr. N. Gordon Carper, Berry College coach
2000: Dr. Carol Guthrie, Tennessee coach and ACF co-founder
2001: Dr. Robert Meredith, Georgia Tech coach
2002: not presented
2003: Eric Hillemann, Carleton coach
2004: Don Windham, Tennessee
2004: Gaius Stern, UC – Berkeley
2005: Charlie Steinhice, Tennessee – Chattanooga coach
2006: R. Robert Hentzel, Iowa State player and NAQT founder
2007: Andrew Yaphe, Virginia, Chicago, and Stanford player, ACF and NAQT editor
2008: Chris Sewell, Texas A&M and Stanford, inventor of SQBS statistics program
2009: Ezequiel Berdichevsky, Michigan and Maryland player and ACF editor
2010: Subash Maddipoti, Chicago player and ACF editor
2011: Dr. Seth Teitler, Berkeley and Chicago player, ACF and NAQT editor
2012: Jeff Hoppes, Berkeley player, ACF and NAQT editor
2013: Matt Weiner, VCU player and coach, founder, ACF editor
2014: Dr. Susan Ferrari, Chicago player, ACF Editor and Communications Director
2015: Dr. Jerry Vinokurov, UC-Berkeley & Brown University player; ACF Editor, Treasurer, Tournament Director
2016: Andrew Hart, University of Minnesota player; ACF Editor, Meeting Chair; NAQT Editor & Member
2017: Jonathan Magin, University of Maryland player; ACF Editor, Meeting Chair
2018: Michael Bentley, University of Maryland player; ACF Editor; PACE Member, Treasurer, and Former President; Innovative writer of independent tournaments
2019: Rob Carson, University of Minnesota player; ACF Editor, PACE Member
2019: Kelly McKenzie, University of Kentucky player; ACF Member Emeritus, Creator of ACF Fall