ACF Nationals 2014 Summary

On the 12th and 13th of April, 2014, 34 teams gathered on the Columbia University campus to play ACF Nationals. Virginia (Matt Bollinger, Evan Adams, Tommy Casalaspi, Dennis Loo) won the championship in an impressive 19-0 sweep. The widely-attended matches to determine second place ended in back-to-back nailbiter victories for Yale (Matt Jackson, Grace Liu, Jacob Reed, Ashvin Srivatsa) over Chicago A (John Lawrence, Max Schindler, Marshall Steinbaum, Charles Tian), 305-280, and Penn A (Eric Mukherjee, Dallas Simons, Patrick Liao, Saajid Moyen), 265-240. Thus Yale, Penn A, and Chicago A were the second through fourth place teams in that order, and were joined by Harvard, Michigan, Maryland A, Illinois, Washington, Stanford, Dartmouth, and Alberta to fill out the rest of the top bracket. By virtue of finishing second place, Yale was the undergraduate champion, Harvard (Stephen Liu, Sriram Pendyala, Mark Arildsen, Will Holub-Moorman) finished second place undergraduate, and Michigan State (Joe Nutter, Shan Kothari, Connor Teevens, Chris Wolfe) defeated Berkeley A (Ankit Aggarwal, Lukas Vlahos, Tanay Kothari, Ilyas Bayramov), 265-25, to claim the undergraduate third place trophy.

North Carolina (Natan Holtzman, Zihan Zheng, Ryan Rosenberg) defeated Notre Dame (Andrew Kiss), 210-5, in the Division II final.

The top eight individual prelim scorers were Matt Bollinger (UVa), Eric Mukherjee (Penn A), Will Nediger (Michigan), Richard Yu (WUSTL), Matt Jackson (Yale), John Lawrence (Chicago), Aaron Rosenberg (Illinois), and Stephen Liu (Harvard).

Undergraduates Nick Jensen (Dartmouth), Shan Kothari (MSU), Jasper Lee (OSU), and Jarret Greene (OSU) earned scoring honors, as did Division II players Natan Holtzman (UNC), Nick Jensen (Dartmouth), Jordan Brownstein (UMD), and Max Schindler (Chicago).

Division II players who made the championship bracket include: Grace Liu (Yale), Jacob Reed (Yale), Max Schindler (Chicago), Will Holub-Moorman (Harvard), Mark Arildsen (Harvard), Siddhant Dogra (Michigan), Todd Maslyk (Michigan), Jordan Brownstein (UMD), Andrew Wang (Illinois), James Bradbury (Stanford), Nikhil Desai (Stanford), and Will Alston (Dartmouth).

Congratulations to Virginia, Yale, and North Carolina on their championships, and thanks to everyone for coming!

Check out this youtube channel for some videos of Jerry Vinokurov reading for teams at Nationals.